ACCLE Awards Policy Statement

Background

The ACCLE aims to celebrate clinical legal education in Canada through three awards: The Ferguson, Cirillo, and Buhler Awards. In 2019 these awards were named to honour of ACCLE's longest serving Board members. They are provided to individuals and/or teams who embody the valuable practices of these honourees.

Regarding the Ferguson, Cirillo, and Buhler Awards, ACCLE acknowledges that:

- These awards honour long-serving Board members and are connected to the work of those members.
- The awards are intended to assist ACCLE to fulfill its common purposes, and particularly:
 - o to promote clinical pedagogy and research;
 - to facilitate the dissemination of information pertaining to clinical legal education to clinicians in Canada; and
 - to encourage promotion and improvement of clinical legal education in Canadian law schools.
- Eligibility and the application process are outlined on the "Awards" page of ACCLE's website.

Equity Guidelines

In providing these awards, ACCLE recognizes that how we collect nominations and how we select award recipients matters and there are often barriers in place that prevent us from recognizing everyone who should be supported and celebrated. Awards adjudication can be inherently biased. ACCLE is committed to an equitable assessment process that reduces bias and supports diverse nominees and award recipients and will continue to work to improve our processes. n an effort to ensure equitable distribution and reach, ACCLE acknowledges and commits to the following:

- Not everyone has the same connections and networks. ACCLE accepts self-nominations to address this experience.
- People with more privilege and employment security have more time to draft nominations. In recognition of this reality, we strive toward an accessible nomination process in which we pursue alternative opportunities to learn about nominees and their work.
- Awards often highlight the winner, without acknowledging the many other worthy nominees. We work to celebrate nominees as well as award recipients.

This process has been developed in collaboration with Sarah Buhler, Lisa Cirillo, and Doug Ferguson.